Rural Opportunity Grant Program

Appalachian State University Logo

East Carolina University Logo

UNC Pembroke Logo

Approved by Board of Directors: January 2020

The SECU Foundation Board of Directors approved a pilot for the Rural Opportunity Grant program in January 2020.

The pilot will focus on the Northwest, Northeast, and Sandhills regions of North Carolina, and utilize an Anchor organization – Appalachian State University, East Carolina University, & UNC Pembroke – to administer the program in each region. The Anchors will convene a Regional Advisory Council to determine a key challenge to address and select the public charity best suited to address that challenge. Each Anchor will receive an award of up to $50,000 to administer the program for its region providing in-house or outsourced consultants to assist the public charities with capacity building needed to develop a project concept.